# RECOGNIZE & REWARD

R&R

JUNE 26, 2019\*

\*We apologize for missing any important news – please email updates to <u>Jennifer Fischahs</u>



### AWARDS

R & R



### Har BRAIN Initiative® Investigators Meeting



Student researcher and UA Junior, **Andres Barragan**, won a **Travel Grant** to present his poster "Real-time Transcranial Acoustoelectric Imaging of Current Densities in Human Head Phantom" in Washington, DC at the 5<sup>th</sup> Annual NIH Conference on the Brain.



**Chet Preston** 

BME Doctoral Candidate, **Chet Preston** won a **Travel Grant** to present his poster "Improving Deep Brain Stimulation through High Resolution Mapping of Steerable Currents using 4D Transcranial Acoustoelectric Imaging" in Washington, DC at the 5<sup>th</sup> Annual NIH Conference on the Brain.



# **GRAND ROUND PRESENTATIONS**



Dr. Maria Altbach & Dr. Andrew Karellas

June 5, 2019

"Will the Role of Mammography Remain the Same in the Next Five Years?" -presented by Dr. Karellas



Dr. Sarah Desoky & Dr. Diana Palacio

Thank you for presenting during Grand Rounds in June

#### June 19, 2019

"Lung Cancer Imaging Evaluation in the Era of Target Therapies" -presented by Dr. Palacio





# CONGRATULATIONS, DR. ARIF

R & R

Congratulations for being selected to receive the inaugural *College of Medicine-Tucson Clinical Investigator Fellows Award!* 



Hina Arif-Tiwari, MD

This award was created in response to the need for integration of state-of-the-art science, technology and medicine to advance new discovery in the current era of the 4<sup>th</sup> industrial revolution.



# NEW GRANT AWARD

The Biomedical Imaging Innovation/Clinical Translation in Next-Gen CT team has been awarded a 5-year R01 grant by the NIH to advance their research in breast imaging.

Andrew Karellas, PhD, DABR, FAAPM, FACR, and Srinivasan Vedantham, PhD, DABR, FAAPM are the Principal Investigators of the \$3.6 million dollar award. Collaborators include Dr. Kimberly Fitzpatrick, Dr. Marisa Borders, Dr. Leigh Neumayer, Dr. Denise Roe, Hsin-Wu (Andy) Tseng, PhD (Senior Postdoctoral Fellow) and Dr. Lauren LeBeau.

R & R

Dr. Andrew Karellas





Dr. Andy Tseng



### 2019 COM-T COMMITTEE ELECTION RESULTS

R & R



Admissions Committee Dr. Frank Morello (re-elected to 2-year term) Committee of Ten Dr. Dorothy Gilbertson (re-elected to 3-year term) Continuing Medical Education Dr. Sarah Desoky (re-elected to 3-year term) MD/PhD Committee Dr. Greg Woodhead (re-elected to 3-year term) Nominating Committee Dr. Andrew Karellas (re-elected to 3-year term) Dean's Research Council Dr. Maria Altbach (re-elected to 5-year term) Dr. Phillip Kuo (re-elected to 5-year term)



# PRESENTATIONS



R & R

Frank Lexa, MD, MS, MBA, FACR

He spoke about Change Management at this year's AUR Annual Meeting

In addition, Dr. Lexa served as a visiting professor at Stanford and **Johns Hopkins Universities** 











# **ELECTED POSITION**

Dr. Kimberly Winsor has been elected as the

### **ACR Western States Representative**

to the Resident and Fellow Section Nominating Committee for the 2019-2020 Academic Year

**Congratulations!** 



RADIOLOGY

L. S.



COLLEGE OF MEDICINE TUCSON Medical Imaging



Kimberly Winsor, MD

# **GRADUATION 2019**



#### **WELCOME**

Janette Durham, MD, MBA Acting Department Chair

#### DIAGNOSTIC RESIDENT CERTIFICATION Dorothy L. Gilbertson-Dahdal, MD Residency Program Director

Kamalani K Hanamaikai, DO Haramrit Hansra, MD Christopher T. Harms, MD Viral Patel, DO Michael I. Posch, MD Cory J. Spicer, MD Philip K. Taylor, DO Kimberly S. Winsor, MD

#### FELLOW CERTIFICATION

Abdominal Radiology Presenter – Hina Arif-Tiwari, MD Usha Jayagurunathan, MD James Blain Sowby, MD Breast Imaging Presenters –Kimberly Fitzpatrick, MD Joseph Simon, MD Cardiothoracic Radiology Presenter – Diana Palacio, MD Tamara F. Lundeen, MD Musculoskeletal Radiology Presenter – Mihra Taljanovic, MD, PhD Marko Marbella, MD Landon Winget, DO

#### Neuroradiology Presenter – Unni Udayasankar, MD Jason T. Anderson, MD Michael Collins, MD Naghmehossadat Eshghi, MD, PhD Nuclear Radiology Presenter – Phillip Kuo, MD, PhD Matthew Kay, MBBS Vascular & Interventional Radiology Presenter – Charles Hennemeyer, MD

Jack Hannallah, MD David Ruiz, MD

#### AWARDS

**Resident Teaching Award** Presenter - Mihra Taljanovic, MD, PhD Grand Saguaro Award Presenter - Mihra Taljanovic, MD, PhD **Outstanding In-Service Exam Award** Presenter - Dorothy L. Gilbertson-Dahdal, MD Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award Presenter - Dorothy L. Gilbertson-Dahdal, MD **Emergency Radiology Book Prize** Presenter - Wayne Kubal, MD Paul Capp Research Award Presenter - Paul Capp, MD George Barnes Faculty Teaching Award Presenter - Haramrit Hansra, MD **Resident Excellence in Professionalism Award** Presenter - Dorothy L. Gilbertson-Dahdal, MD



COLLEGE OF MEDICINE TUCSON Medical Imaging

### R & R

# **GRADUATION 2019**













COLLEGE OF MEDICINE TUCSON Medical Imaging

### R & R



R & R

L. A



### **GRADUATION 2019**

L. R.





COLLEGE OF MEDICINE TUCSON Medical Imaging

### R & R



### Congratulations 2019 Medical Imaging Graduates



1 see

